now i'm typically of the opinion that when it comes to things like condements, it's just easier to grab a jar from the store. however, for some crazy reason, condement companies feel that caramel they make needs to be more caramely looking. thus, they add "caramel color". normally, i wouldn't mind a tiny little addition such as this, but caramel color is actually made from barely, which is a gluten containing grain. and trying to find a brand that doesn't use it seems to be about impossible.
once i got done, it looked so good, i just had to try it out on something. and what goes better with caramel than fudge and ice cream (and since hubby wasn't around i threw some pecans on top)
hope you enjoy!